>> Click for larger view
Designed and built in 1948 by architects Nathaniel Saltonstall and Oliver P. Morton on a beautiful parcel of land overlooking Wellfleet harbor and bay, the Mayo Hill Colony Club first served as a private club and art gallery for artists and their patrons. Each Bauhaus-style cottage was furnished with pieces designed by the leading modernists of the day. Loris and Eleanor Stefani acquired the cottages in 1963. From the start, they began adding their own creative touches – and much of his artwork – to this unique place, now renamed The Colony. Together, they created one of the truly special summer retreats in the Northeast. The Colony soon became a haven for a special breed of people. It has been a haven for those appreciating serenity, including writers Lionel and Diana Trilling, Bernard and Ann Malamud, William Shirer, professors, poets, psychiatrists, such as Margaret Mahler, a pioneer in autism research, and many others who continue to find The Colony of Wellfleet as inviting and magical as ever.

Welcome!